Skip to content

Teo Gutiérrez stays at Racing – for now

January 11, 2012

January 11th, 2012

 

Porto and Atletico Madrid target Teo Gutierrez appears set to stay at Racing Club at least for the next six months, after he declared that his presence in Tuesday’s pre-season friendly confirmed his desire to fight the Clausura title alongside new coach Alfio Basile.

 

The Colombian was heavily linked with a move away from Avellaneda following the conclusion of the 2011 Apertura season, with a move to Portugal or Spain looking most likely. Former coach Diego Simeone, now at Atletico, had gone as far to say that Teo had packed up his things and would not be stepping foot in the club again.

 

The striker reported for training at the start of January, however, and on Tuesday scored a late equaliser to earn Racing a 1-1 draw against Estudiantes. Speaking after the match, Teo explained that he was 100 per cent committed to carrying on at La Academia.

 

“If I’m playing, it is because I am staying. I am happy because this shirt means everything and wearing it gives me great pride,” he told reporters in Mar del Plata.

 

“Luckily, things with the directors went well, so I’m happy. I’m here to do things well and every time I walk onto the pitch I am there to do my best.”

 

Teo moved on to talk about Basile, who took over from Simeone at the end of December.

 

“El Coco transmits confidence and that is great for the group. We have already left behind what has happened in the past. We have a great coach who knows a lot and he knows how to run a team,” he added.

 

The forward has been at Racing for 12 months, and was the club’s top scorer with 17 goals in 2011 following a move from Trabzonspor.

 

Source: goal.com

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment